Benbow Guest Testimonials

Benbow Historic Inn provides some of the best hotel accommodations and services in Humboldt County.
The following testimonials were provided to us by guests who have stayed at Benbow Historic Inn.

It felt like we were in the countryside of England.

 4.2 Average Rating

We loved our stay at the Benbow Inn. It felt like we were in the countryside of England. Everything about the hotel was excellent. We were especially impressed with the staff. Melinda was most helpful at the front desk and the dining room staff was polite and so warm and friendly…always with a smile. We can’t wait to come back to the Benbow Inn and plan to bring other friends with us. Being so close to the Avenue of the Giants was a big plus. What a magical weekend we had and the Benbow Inn was a real treat.

— Stephen August, 8 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The suite was so wonderful so we just excepted the cosy atmosphere

 5.0 Average Rating

We couldn’t adjust the heat the thermostat did not lower and stayed at 73. Also the air fan stayed on all the time. The suite was so wonderful so we just excepted the cosy atmosphere THank you so much

— Bran Collingwood, 5 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Congrats on giving an excellent historical property experience!!

 4.7 Average Rating

Lovely property! Very much loved our Sunday brunch experience & our leisurely stroll through the beautiful grounds & Inn! Congrats on giving an excellent historical property experience!! God bless!!

— Lillian Ritchie,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 4
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 4
Staff Courtesy: 5

everyone was very nice we will definitely be back

 5.0 Average Rating

Our first visit last year wasn’t good at all do to the man working the registration so we were hesitant to come back but they gave us a room for a night and upgraded to king terrace it was wonderfully and everyone was very nice we will definitely be back

— Scott Smith, 1 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The grounds were stunning, the bar and the restaurant staff were excellent.

 4.3 Average Rating

Best customer service we have experienced in a very long time from every staff member!!! The room was clean, but very noisy (due to A/C unit). In my opinion the room could use a “refresher” as well. Something to keep the historic feel but bring it a little more up to date. The grounds were stunning, the bar and the restaurant staff were excellent. The drinks were great, food was good. We sat on the terrace overlooking the grounds and the bridge. It was wonderful. We will be back!

— Jennifer Tudor, 29 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 3
Staff Courtesy: 5

The Staff overall was absolutely fantastic and very responsive to shortfalls

 5.0 Average Rating

The only problem that we encountered was that the morning coffee service and afternoon tea/scones were not regularly attended to. There was something that was always out and someone had to be notified to take care of the missing item(s). The Staff overall was absolutely fantastic and very responsive to shortfalls.

— Sam Chase, 26 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

beautiful property and great hospitality

 5.0 Average Rating

beautiful property and great hospitality

— Bill Tomlin,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Benbow is truly a destination must for people traveling North

 5.0 Average Rating

The new look is great! With the elevator in place it was so much easier for my wife and I to get around the building. Benbow is truly a destination must for people traveling North.

— Larry Connolly, 24 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

What a beautiful hotel!

 4.7 Average Rating

What a beautiful hotel! Our room was cozy but the bed was not comfortable. Bottom linen was pilly and should be thrown away. Our breakfast server was very slow with coffee and order even though he only had one other table. Otherwise, the setting overall is worth recommending to others. The perfect setting for a wedding! Loved the menu offerings for dinner as well. Great coffee and wine selection.

— Kevin Hill, 21 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 3
Staff Courtesy: 5

Everything was absolutely perfect

 5 Average Rating

Thank you for providing your guests a fantastic weekend in your beautiful inn. Everything was absolutely perfect and we will be back soon!

— Harold & Vicke White, 16 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Love the renovations

 5 Average Rating

Love the renovations and especially the new elevator!

— Andrew Schutz,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Benbow Inn is a very special place.

 5 Average Rating

Benbow Inn is a very special place.

— William Coffield, 15 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Lovely relaxing environment!

 5 Average Rating

Just so beautiful in the Inn with beautiful architectural and the dining room was 5+. Food was fantastic and service was top drawer and classy. The gardens were well kept and so inviting. Lovely relaxing environment!

— Michelle Owens, 14 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

could not ask for a more spectacular experience

 5 Average Rating

A person could not ask for a more spectacular experience than visiting the Benbow Inn. The historic facility is beautiful, the staff friendly and professional and the food is excellent. Looking forward to our next stay. Sincerely, Blaine and Rayna Westfall

— Blaine and Rayna Westfall, 27 January 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The staff is cheerful and courteous

 5 Average Rating

Always wonderful. The staff is cheerful and courteous whether they’re hauling lumber, tidying up our room or responding to a special request. We always look forward to a spot of Benbow sherry together upon our arrival. The note from Jon and Teresa in our room when we arrive is very special. Thank you again for letting us stay at the Benbow Inn.

— Colleen, 19 December 2017

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We spent our weekend enjoying the relaxing and beautiful surroundings

 4.8 Average Rating

We spent our weekend enjoying the relaxing and beautiful surroundings, over the top food, and attentive staff. The special packages offered made our stay affordable and prompted us to upgrade our room. Thanks to everyone at The Benbow INN for a memorable stay!

— Xavier Ayala,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5