Benbow Guest Testimonials

Benbow Historic Inn provides some of the best hotel accommodations and services in Humboldt County.
The following testimonials were provided to us by guests who have stayed at Benbow Historic Inn.

Thank you, Benbow Inn!!

 5.0 Average Rating

Loved our stay at Benbow Inn and we will be back. The atmosphere & overall ambience, along with the professional,friendly staff made the stay a one-of-a-kind experience! The dining room along with it’s staff, and the delicious selections (portion size = Large) made dining on site a great choice. From the room to the upper lobby, the antique decor carried us back to a more luxurious, somehow simpler, time – creating a slower, very relaxing mini-vacation. Thank you, Benbow Inn!!

— Kerrill Lewis, 10 December 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

They make you feel welcome.

 5.0 Average Rating

All the staff we came in contact with were helpful and welcoming. We love staying in places where they make you feel welcome and Benbow is one of those places!

— Geoffrey Caldwell,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

It is a home away from home.

 5.0 Average Rating

We were at the Benbow Inn for an overnight stay and once again, it was absolutely a great stay. We were checked in by Melinda, a very friendly, professional employee. She welcomed us back to the Inn. Dinner was delicious and the staff very efficient. A highlight was that the Inn was decorated with all the Christmas trimmings. Put us right into the Christmas spirit. Benbow Inn is a special destination for me and my wife. It is a home away from home. The best!!

— Marguerite,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We enjoyed a very nice quiet getaway.

 5.0 Average Rating

We enjoyed a very nice quiet getaway. Loved the historic room overlooking the grounds. We will definitely stay again.We recommend Benbow Inn to anyone looking for a place to unwind.

— Twila Sanchez,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We love the Benbow Inn

 4.7 Average Rating

We love the Benbow Inn, and we’ll be back. For us, this is a great getaway place and a retreat from everything, and a great place for special occasions/celebrations.

— Micheal Margulis,

Reservation Process: 4
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 4
Staff Courtesy: 5

The service was amazing.

 5.0 Average Rating

The service was amazing and the food was beyond my expectations. It’s definitely worth it.

— Anonymous, 30 October 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Food was excellent.

 5.0 Average Rating

Came in for Dinner
Had a great time
Live music and good cocktails
Food was excellent

— Jeffrey,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Could not have been better!

 5.0 Average Rating

We ate on the outside deck area, and the weather was perfect, lovely summer evening, could not have been better. The menu has a wide range of choices, service was quick and efficient (almost always), and when delivered, the meals were all excellent. There is also an outstanding wine list for those of that persuasion. Our whole party greatly enjoyed the meal and the evening.

— Tony,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Amazing place, fantastic atmosphere.

 4.0 Average Rating

Amazing place, fantastic atmosphere. Some things were spot on, others were good. Tomato salad was tasty, mushroom soup was delish. Monk fish really good but a little over salted. The old fashioned was disappointing definitely not the classic drink you’d expect from an historic bar. We’ll be back but will order simpler drinks.

— Gary,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Server Latoya was very professional, kind, and efficient!

 5.0 Average Rating

Benbow Historic Inn outdoor patio is a lovely place to dine! Server Latoya was very professional, kind, and efficient! Support staff is always helpful! And the food was delicious! Thank you!

— HappyMama,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Beautiful View!

 5.0 Average Rating

Lovely room with beautiful view. Dry quiet and comfortable.

— Elizabeth Johnson,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Very special place!

 5.0 Average Rating

We loved our time at Benbow. Very special place!

— Maren Mcmullan,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Kindness and Professionalism

 4.0 Average Rating

We came for the Halloween celebration & found ourselves displaced as a result of the Kincade fire so we ended up staying for a week. The staff did an outstanding job of accommodating so many displaced guests with empathy, kindness and professionalism.

— Tanya,

Reservation Process: 4
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 3
Staff Courtesy: 5

Very polite and pleasant service.

 5.0 Average Rating

The food served in your dining room is amazing: served HOT and your very polite and pleasant service people really know the menu. Everything was amazing except we feel the portion sizes are HUGE. We don’t see how anyone, with the exception of a linebacker, can eat everything on their plate. Also the majority of the menu has shellfish in some way, shape, or form. That limits the menu for those with seafood allergies (me). Even your daily soup was contaminated with seafood. I would understand all the “seafood” if you were located on the ocean. . . We would definitely recommend the Benbow to others and plan on revisiting your lovely inn again! We have been coming to the inn for 36 years. 🙂

— Tom Mcgoldrick, 8 October 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Always a joy!

 5.0 Average Rating

Thank you , always a joy!

— Suzy Haggerty,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Great service

 5.0 Average Rating

great service and people.

— Keith Van Note,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Perfect, as always.

 5.0 Average Rating

Perfect, as always.

— Julie Timmons,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Enjoyed our stay very much!

 5.0 Average Rating

We celebrated our anniversary at Benbow Inn and enjoyed our stay very much; one of our favorite memories now. Will do it again and will find more reasons to visit!

— Gene,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Both relaxing and refreshing

 5.0 Average Rating

The front desk staff was always attentive and helpful without being intrusive. The setting was gorgeous . And the restaurant was beautiful and delicious. Marcus , the restaurant manager was energetic and enthusiastic . Our server Rebecca was great, friendly helpful and knowledgeable about the meal options and wine pairings. Coming from the SF Bay Area I found the entire experience to be both relaxing and refreshing

— George Copy Thabit, 23 September 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We will be back:-)

 5.0 Average Rating

There wasn’t any cream and sugar in our room for our coffee. Other than that everything was perfect! We had a delicious dinner on the terrace while we listened to live music. It was a wonderful evening! We will be back:-)

— Doug Holmes, 5 September 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We will be back!

 5.0 Average Rating

We will be back.

— Teresa And Charlie Soldavini, 16 August 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Staff Greeted Us Warmly

 4.8 Average Rating

I appreciate the careful way this historic inn has been preserved. We really enjoyed the tea and scones in the afternoon. Staff greeted us warmly throughout our stay. Appreciated the live music outside. Thank you.

— Gary Bozin,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 4
Staff Courtesy: 5

Just a lovely experience overall

 4.8 Average Rating

Just a lovely experience overall. Staff could not have been more friendly &/or helpful. Beautiful setting and rooms were quite nice and clean. TV’s could use updating as a bit grainy and a handrail for back steps would be good for elderly but a wonderful experience.

— Melanie Traub, 5 August 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Great Brunches

 4.2 Average Rating

GREAT DINNERS AND BRUNCHES!

— Leona Aves,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 1

The attention to detail was impressive

 5.0 Average Rating

What an extraordinary place to rejuvenate. The attention to detail was impressive. The staff, and particularly the restaurant, were fabulous. Thank you!!

— Wende Wylie,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The breakfast at the restaurant was exceptional!

 4.8 Average Rating

Wonderful time at the Benbow! The breakfast at the restaurant was exceptional! The staff was wonderful. Our only problem was that the sink and tub did not drain well, but we didn’t want to complain since you were so nice. Please let customers know (in advance on the phone) that the bunk beds are child sized. Beautiful grounds!

— Marget Babin, 29 July 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Wonderful Visit!

 5.0 Average Rating

Wonderful visit, fabulous food! Looking forward to next visit!

— Edward Scoble, 26 July 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

A classic blast to the past.

 5.0 Average Rating

A classic blast to the past with excellent service and staff. The room was very comfortable and lovely. The hotel picturesque. Our visit was refreshing and the location a great place to explore the surrounding communities.

— Jim Laxson,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

It really takes you back in time

 5.0 Average Rating

“It really takes you back in time.”

— -Curtis W. Google Review, 20 May 2019

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Always a pleasure with these fine people.

 5.0 Average Rating

Always a pleasure with these fine people.

— Vince Plummer, 15 November 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The renovations are good, especially the elevator!

 5.0 Average Rating

After a previously very disappointing stay, this one more than made up for that. Good to be able to look forward to another stay with you, replete with memories. The renovations are good, especially the elevator! A few more directional signs from the Terrace level might be useful, even an indication as to where the elevator takes you, for first time guests. Dinner was wonderful. A very creative menu.

— Jane Coady, 10 November 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Benbow Inn is a beautiful place and we really enjoy our dinner

 5.0 Average Rating

Staffs are nice and friendly. Benbow Inn is a beautiful place and we really enjoy our dinner, food was fantastic, also the scones and coffee.

— Irene Barnett, 2 November 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

It was a delight bringing my daughter there to jump off to the Redwoods.

 4.8 Average Rating

There is a gap developing on the exterior between the old front stairs and the building. Looks uncared for and will result in rot. Otherwise everything was well maintained. It was a delight bringing my daughter there to jump off to the Redwoods. Thank you.

— Douglas Martin, 26 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

brings back all the pleasant memories

 5.0 Average Rating

Pleasure to stay at Benbow again. Returning periodically over the years and found the stay still as good as the the first time. It brings back all the pleasant memories and this time I added new ones. The inn ages like fine wine. Thank you

— Sandra Brugger, 23 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Very tasty and artfully presented.

 5.0 Average Rating

Exceptional food served in dining room. Very tasty and artfully presented.

— Constance Squires, 22 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Loved the mushrooms!

 5.0 Average Rating

Absolutely perfect stay! I would like to try all seasons at the Inn, but fall was indeed gorgeous. You didn’t ask about the restaurant, but that is also wonderful. Loved the mushrooms!

— Beatice Johnson, 18 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Love the fact you loan out bikes

 5.0 Average Rating

The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant seemed to be happy to be there and very helpful. The tea and scones were a nice touch, thanks! Love the fact you loan out bikes, will take advantage next time.

— Susan Brennan,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Beautiful and quiet place to stay

 5.0 Average Rating

Beautiful and quiet place to stay

— Ann Harrin, 17 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We have been visiting Benbow for the past past 53 years

 5.0 Average Rating

We had a glorious stay at our beloved Benbow Inn. John Elliott and Maria Schmitt have been most gracious. John took the time to take us on a grand tour of the NEWLY RENOVATED BENBOW. It is wonderful to see all the details blend in with this historic treasure. We have been visiting Benbow for the past past 53 years. We always make sure we arrive for the fabulous tea and scone…yum, yum! We loved our terrace room overlooking the old stone bridge. We are already looking forward to returning to this magnificent place in the California Redwoods. Bob and Glenda Morgan San luis Obispo, Calif.

— Robert, 15 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Always a wonderful relaxing time

 5.0 Average Rating

Always a wonderful relaxing time for us.

— Donald Hanson, 9 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

It felt like we were in the countryside of England.

 4.2 Average Rating

We loved our stay at the Benbow Inn. It felt like we were in the countryside of England. Everything about the hotel was excellent. We were especially impressed with the staff. Melinda was most helpful at the front desk and the dining room staff was polite and so warm and friendly…always with a smile. We can’t wait to come back to the Benbow Inn and plan to bring other friends with us. Being so close to the Avenue of the Giants was a big plus. What a magical weekend we had and the Benbow Inn was a real treat.

— Stephen August, 8 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The suite was so wonderful so we just excepted the cosy atmosphere

 5.0 Average Rating

We couldn’t adjust the heat the thermostat did not lower and stayed at 73. Also the air fan stayed on all the time. The suite was so wonderful so we just excepted the cosy atmosphere THank you so much

— Bran Collingwood, 5 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Congrats on giving an excellent historical property experience!!

 4.7 Average Rating

Lovely property! Very much loved our Sunday brunch experience & our leisurely stroll through the beautiful grounds & Inn! Congrats on giving an excellent historical property experience!! God bless!!

— Lillian Ritchie,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 4
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 4
Staff Courtesy: 5

everyone was very nice we will definitely be back

 5.0 Average Rating

Our first visit last year wasn’t good at all do to the man working the registration so we were hesitant to come back but they gave us a room for a night and upgraded to king terrace it was wonderfully and everyone was very nice we will definitely be back

— Scott Smith, 1 October 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The grounds were stunning, the bar and the restaurant staff were excellent.

 4.3 Average Rating

Best customer service we have experienced in a very long time from every staff member!!! The room was clean, but very noisy (due to A/C unit). In my opinion the room could use a “refresher” as well. Something to keep the historic feel but bring it a little more up to date. The grounds were stunning, the bar and the restaurant staff were excellent. The drinks were great, food was good. We sat on the terrace overlooking the grounds and the bridge. It was wonderful. We will be back!

— Jennifer Tudor, 29 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 3
Staff Courtesy: 5

The Staff overall was absolutely fantastic and very responsive to shortfalls

 5.0 Average Rating

The only problem that we encountered was that the morning coffee service and afternoon tea/scones were not regularly attended to. There was something that was always out and someone had to be notified to take care of the missing item(s). The Staff overall was absolutely fantastic and very responsive to shortfalls.

— Sam Chase, 26 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

beautiful property and great hospitality

 5.0 Average Rating

beautiful property and great hospitality

— Bill Tomlin,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Benbow is truly a destination must for people traveling North

 5.0 Average Rating

The new look is great! With the elevator in place it was so much easier for my wife and I to get around the building. Benbow is truly a destination must for people traveling North.

— Larry Connolly, 24 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

What a beautiful hotel!

 4.7 Average Rating

What a beautiful hotel! Our room was cozy but the bed was not comfortable. Bottom linen was pilly and should be thrown away. Our breakfast server was very slow with coffee and order even though he only had one other table. Otherwise, the setting overall is worth recommending to others. The perfect setting for a wedding! Loved the menu offerings for dinner as well. Great coffee and wine selection.

— Kevin Hill, 21 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 3
Staff Courtesy: 5

Everything was absolutely perfect

 5 Average Rating

Thank you for providing your guests a fantastic weekend in your beautiful inn. Everything was absolutely perfect and we will be back soon!

— Harold & Vicke White, 16 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Love the renovations

 5 Average Rating

Love the renovations and especially the new elevator!

— Andrew Schutz,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Benbow Inn is a very special place.

 5 Average Rating

Benbow Inn is a very special place.

— William Coffield, 15 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Lovely relaxing environment!

 5 Average Rating

Just so beautiful in the Inn with beautiful architectural and the dining room was 5+. Food was fantastic and service was top drawer and classy. The gardens were well kept and so inviting. Lovely relaxing environment!

— Michelle Owens, 14 September 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

could not ask for a more spectacular experience

 5 Average Rating

A person could not ask for a more spectacular experience than visiting the Benbow Inn. The historic facility is beautiful, the staff friendly and professional and the food is excellent. Looking forward to our next stay. Sincerely, Blaine and Rayna Westfall

— Blaine and Rayna Westfall, 27 January 2018

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The staff is cheerful and courteous

 5 Average Rating

Always wonderful. The staff is cheerful and courteous whether they’re hauling lumber, tidying up our room or responding to a special request. We always look forward to a spot of Benbow sherry together upon our arrival. The note from Jon and Teresa in our room when we arrive is very special. Thank you again for letting us stay at the Benbow Inn.

— Colleen, 19 December 2017

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We spent our weekend enjoying the relaxing and beautiful surroundings

 4.8 Average Rating

We spent our weekend enjoying the relaxing and beautiful surroundings, over the top food, and attentive staff. The special packages offered made our stay affordable and prompted us to upgrade our room. Thanks to everyone at The Benbow INN for a memorable stay!

— Xavier Ayala,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5