Benbow Guest Testimonials

Benbow Historic Inn provides some of the best hotel accommodations and services in Humboldt County.
The following testimonials were provided to us by guests who have stayed at Benbow Historic Inn.

Great place to get away!

 5.0 Average Rating

Great place to get away!

— Louis M., 27 August 2021

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The beautifully designed new annex, with an elevator, was much appreciated.

 5.0 Average Rating

My memorable last stay with you was 35 years ago, on the 3rd floor. At age 78, the beautifully designed new annex, with an elevator, was much appreciated.

— John C,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Thank you!

 5.0 Average Rating

Mind, body, spirit rejuvenation? 10!!! Thank you!

— Carol M.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Everyone was great!

 5.0 Average Rating

Despite Covid restrictions, we enjoyed our stay and everyone was great!

— Andrew K.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Our dinner was amazing

 5.0 Average Rating

We spent a very relaxing night at the inn. Our dinner was amazing. The filet mignon was exceptional.

— Twila S.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Will return again soon !

 5.0 Average Rating

Outstanding room, staff, and service, and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Will return again soon!

— Russel H., 8 July 2021

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

My dinner at the restaurant was mouthwateringly delicious

 5.0 Average Rating

I had an amazing stay at the Benbow Inn! My room was beautiful and spacious. My dinner at the restaurant was mouthwateringly delicious, and the breakaways delightful as well! I look forward to many future stays!

— Ashley M.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Loved our time with you

 5.0 Average Rating

Loved our time with you. Everything was beautiful: the location, the building and grounds, our room. The staff was helpful and courteous. We plan on staying again.

— Margaret E.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The band was great and so was the food and the service!

 5.0 Average Rating

The staff is top-notch. We enjoyed an excellent dinner on the patio for two nights. The band was great and so was the food and the service! We have stayed at the Benbow many times and it is a favorite of ours.

— Cindy H.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Great Hotel

 5.0 Average Rating

Great Hotel, great room, great library, great dinner. We will return.

— love, Peter & Maxine,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a night or a weekend at the Benbow Inn

 5.0 Average Rating

It was beautiful, it felt like it took you back in time, we met people who have been coming there for years since they were little and first-time people like us. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a night or a weekend at the Benbow Inn you will not regret it. We plan on going back.

— Brad and Sandy H.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

I had a wonderful stay.

 5.0 Average Rating

I’ve passed by the Benbow Inn for the past 50 years, always thinking I’d like to stop. Finally did. I had a wonderful stay. I loved the terrace dining, loved the food, loved the room. can’t wait to stop by again. SOON.

— William W., 27 May 2021

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

First timers.

 5.0 Average Rating

We really enjoyed our stay. First-timers. Dinner waitstaff and hostess exceptional. I observed true teamwork in serving guests and servicing the dining tent. Exceptional staff, extraordinary property. We will be back!

— Marianne B., 26 May 2021

Reservation Process: 4
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Kelba was a fantastic waitress

 5.0 Average Rating

Our anniversary couldn’t have been any better under Humboldt County’s COVID restrictions. Kelba was a fantastic waitress during our dinners there as well.

— Paul R., 17 May 2021

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

So beautiful and historic.

 5.0 Average Rating

Your place was amazing. So beautiful and historic.

— Janet C.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

What a BEAUTIFUL place!

 5.0 Average Rating

What a BEAUTIFUL place! We really enjoyed the hotel and the grounds! Everyone was friendly & helpful. GREAT meal in the dining room! Such a treat!

— Jack O.,

Reservation Process: 4
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 4
Staff Courtesy: 5

We look forward to another stay.

 5.0 Average Rating

It was such a relaxing time we spent at Benbow. Being able to sit out on the patio and read and have a glass of wine was really relaxing. The dinners were also fabulous. It was such a treat after the restrictions we have all been under the past year. We look forward to another stay.

— Lester,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

The upgrades for accessibility are beautiful…

 5.0 Average Rating

We love being, eating and sleeping at the Benbow. The upgrades for accessibility are beautiful, seamless and have made it possible to stay in a historical room. Clara’s Suite is our new favorite.

— Nadenia/Jim N.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

lovely as always

 5.0 Average Rating

lovely as always

— Diane M.G., 7 April 2021

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

A wonderful stay.

 5.0 Average Rating

As always, a wonderful stay with great food and service

— Michael N.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Slept great and enjoyed the view.

 5.0 Average Rating

Everyone was friendly and accommodating. Slept great and enjoyed the view.

— Regina O. ,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Everything about our stay was wonderful.

 5.0 Average Rating

Best Filet mignon dinner we have ever had. It was cooked to perfection with the perfect mix of flavors. You have a wonderful chef. Everything about our stay was wonderful.

— Angie C., 25 March 2021

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Can’t return soon enough

 4.0 Average Rating

We had a lovely stay ….beautiful room, super courteous, prompt staff, and delicious food. Can’t return soon enough

— Christine L. ,

Reservation Process: 4
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We can’t wait to visit again.

 5.0 Average Rating

Every staff person we met was very friendly and helpful. Our dinner was delicious and the service was excellent. We can’t wait to visit again.

— Twila S. , 11 March 2021

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We look forward to our next stay.

 5.0 Average Rating

We had a wonderful time, once again, staying at the Inn. We come down from Eureka once a year to get away and it has always been a memorable experience. Thank you Porter family for all your hard work and dedication to keeping your dream alive. We look forward to our next stay. Blessings.

— David E., 3 March 2021

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

A wonderful night in a beautiful place.

 5.0 Average Rating

A wonderful night in a beautiful place during this crazy time. Thank you so much!

— Rick,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We look forward to returning!

 5.0 Average Rating

We had a wonderful stay! Staff was very courteous and helpful. Our waiter at dinner was exceptional. Food was delicious! We look forward to returning.

— Dorinda,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

As always wonderful

 5.0 Average Rating

As always wonderful. Dinner was delicious.

— Bayard Y.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Our stay was perfect in every way!

 5.0 Average Rating

Our stay was perfect in every way! I am so very happy to return and to find the charm was not lost (even with the addition of an elevator and Tesla charging station). Many thanks to those in charge.

— Marcena W., 26 October 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Your staff was tremendous!

 5.0 Average Rating

We truly enjoyed our stay! The hotel is wonderful, the restaurant, bar area, and patio are great. We had an extremely delicious dinner! Your staff was tremendous! Wish we could stay much longer. The only letdown was the condition of the golf course, but It wasn’t a big deal. Thank you for the wonderful day and night and for sharing your hotel and grounds with us.

— Terrence B., 5 October 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Dinner was delicious!

 5.0 Average Rating

The wait staff at dinner was awesome and very courteous. Dinner was delicious! The gentleman serving coffee and breakfast burritos had excellent customer service. The burritos were great too!! Celebrated my sister and dad’s birthday and had a great time.

— Tim C M.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Wonderful Weekend!

 5.0 Average Rating

Wonderful Weekend! Dinner was delicious both nights.

— Maureen G.,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We will definitely be back.

 5.0 Average Rating

We drive from Southern California to Oregon a couple of times a year and we’ve been looking for a place like the Benbow Inn on the 101. We will definitely be back. Even in the time of the pandemic, everything was done just right. Great food and waitstaff too. shout our to Keith in the restaurant for great service.

— Owen B., 25 August 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

I’ve been visiting this extraordinary hotel for decades.

 5.0 Average Rating

I’ve been visiting this extraordinary hotel for decades. They keep fine-tuning it and the present details and decor are exquisite. Our historic room had to be the cutest in the hotel. I don’t enjoy the terrace rooms as much. Few know how years ago this hotel was rescued and restored from 1970’s ramshackle conditions…and today whoever sources the unique art and antiques in each room is a genius.

— Marshal G., 24 August 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Great time!

 4.8 Average Rating

We had a great time!

— Hardie,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Would stay again.

 5.0 Average Rating

Beautiful place, nice staff , the only unfortunate thing was the elevator was not working and we were on the fourth floor . But overall it was wonderful !! Would stay again.

— Charlene M., 18 August 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 3
Room Condition: 4
Staff Courtesy: 4

The Food Was Amazing!

 4.7 Average Rating

Rebecca (our waitress for dinner) was fantastic. The food was amazing!

— Jeremiah J. ,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 3
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We have been coming here since the early 1970’s…

 5.0 Average Rating

Thank you. We had a wonderful time for our 51st wedding anniversary. coming to the Ben Bow Inn Is always a treat for our special occasions. We have been coming here since the early 1970’s and you never disappoint us.

— Janet B., 3 August 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

A delightful getaway.

 5.0 Average Rating

A delightful getaway. Everything was perfect. The view out our room was beautiful. Thank you for the room upgrade.

— Silvia M., 1 July 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

It is a beautiful property.

 5.0 Average Rating

This was my first stay at your hotel. It is a beautiful property and we had a wonderful time.

— Betsy L., 30 June 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 4
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 4
Staff Courtesy: 5

Benbow remains the wonderful getaway it was in 1947

 5.0 Average Rating

Benbow remains the wonderful getaway it was in 1947 when my parents were greeted by staff in the middle of the night after driving from their wedding in San Francisco. Thank you Barbara for helping arrange a perfect visit for our son and his girlfriend.

— Mike R., 29 June 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Thank you!

 5.0 Average Rating

Thank you for helping our family to celebrate the season in a most happy way!

— Phylis Deller, 22 January 2020

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 4
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

loved our stay!

 5.0 Average Rating

— Sherry Blanchard,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Their customer service was exceptional.

 5.0 Average Rating

John the front desk manager and Barbara were amazing and helped us deal with a mistake made when reserving rooms. Their customer service was exceptional.

— Christopher A Dory,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Always the most wonderful experience!!!

 4.7 Average Rating

Always the most wonderful experience!!!

— Dan Swanson,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 3
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

We spent our honeymoon here!

 5.0 Average Rating

We spent our honeymoon here 19 years ago and found the Benbow to be even more captivating! We are thinking of spending Christmas next year!

— Brian C Odell,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Christmas decorations were beautiful!

 5.0 Average Rating

I’m a local but like to treat myself and visitors to a stay or at least dinner at the Benbow. It’s a beautiful historic inn and the food is divine! Christmas decorations were beautiful!

— Janice Dean,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 5
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 5

Magical

 4.7 Average Rating

Always a magical time at the Benbow.

— Cynthia Morrell,

Reservation Process: 5
Check In Process: 5
Amenities: 4
Room Condition: 5
Staff Courtesy: 4